05
Aug
07

Historic First Post

Greetings!

This is the first post marking the beginning of my new blog which will surely go down in history as one of the most important events to take place in the twenty-first century! …Possibly.. In any case it is my first post on my first blog so I should probably say a little bit about why I am starting this blog.

I’ve actually only just discovered the joys of blogging in the last several months. Of course I’ve known of blogging and seen blogs for a long time, but I had never actually found any that I really liked. Somehow though, in the middle of my spring semester at UMBC last year, I stumbled across a couple really cool blogs. Since then I’ve come across numerous other really interesting blogs spanning a range of topics (just see the blog-roll on the sidebar!)

I started to comment on some of the blogs I read, but soon realized this wasn’t the most efficient outlet for my thoughts. I also started to think it would be neat to be able to write my own content and tutorials on things I’m interested in. Thus I decided I would start my own blog at the beginning of summer (hey, early August is pretty much the beginning of summer, right?) for just this purpose.

*Voilà!*

So… Prepare to be amazed!- For this will surely (not likely) be the most epic blog ever to appear on the scene!

/Keith

8 Responses to “Historic First Post”


  1. August 5, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    Welcome :). Any particular topics that you will be covering ?

  2. 2 Keith
    August 5, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Wow.. I honestly didn’t expect anyone to visit the blog for a while so I was trying to think of nice things I could write to myself. Now I will have to reconsider things and possibly actually write some relevant posts!

    In a nutshell, I hope to write about topics relating to bioinformatics, programming, open science initiatives, and linux. Initially I imagine the posts will span a pretty broad range of topics. I’m graduating from undergraduate school this semester with degrees in bioinformatics and psychology. Once I can figure out how I can manage to pay for it, the next step will be to apply to graduate programs. One of the first goals of this blog really is for me is to help figure out what kinds of things I would enjoy most researching in the future, and try and get involved in the bioinformatics community. Machine learning, information visualization and metagenomics in particular are a few bioinformatics topics I would like to learn and write about.

    Thanks Pedro for the welcome. Your blog was one of the first I came across that got me interested in blogging in the first place, so it’s nice to hear from you!

  3. August 5, 2007 at 9:46 pm

    You probably already have the attention of a some of those that you linked to on the blogroll. We spend too much time checking our incoming links in technorati ;).
    It is great to have another bioinformatic related blog around for discussions. All the best.

  4. August 5, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Looking forward to the content. Welcome to the bioblogging scene.

  5. August 6, 2007 at 3:41 am

    Pedro is indeed right, I too also spend time checking my blogging statistics when I should be reading papers instead.

    My advice for a new blog would be to write consitently. Once a week is better than three posts a week then nothing for two weeks. Though I am the first to admit that I’m guilty of not writing posts regularly.

    Daily blog tips has a host of useful information too.
    http://www.dailyblogtips.com/

    Good luck

  6. 7 Keith
    August 6, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks everyone for your warm welcome and suggestions. You all are the reason I became interested in blogging so it’s really awesome to have you stop by!

    Thanks Michael too for the suggestion- I spent a good couple hours this morning drinking coffee and reading various posts there.

    Alright. I’m off to write my first real entry now. Feel free to leave any comments or suggestions if you have to chance to read any of my entries. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated :)

  7. 8 freesci
    August 7, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    All the best and have fun with blogging :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

